Nothing like a little twister to twist things up a bit.

So what are you doing this morning?  Well let me tell you ain’t nothing like being woken up by the sound of something beating the side of your house right where you are laying.  It had been storming all night but I love storms…they soothe me.  I will tell you the one I faced this morning has forever changed my mind.  All I remember is hearing the loud boom and Kyle screaming grab Mittens now.  He grabbed drama queen and we headed down to the basement.  I was just a bit on the paranoid side by this time. We all sat there in a huddle wondering how bad it was gonna get.  Our house is made out of old barn lumber and tin. Don’t know how well that holds up.  Drama queen is freaking out screaming “are we gonna die”, the dog is running in circles chasing her tail and barking like an old coon dog, and Mittens…well she was being Mittens.  A little child totally unaware of the present danger laughing and playing with such a sweet spirit. We wait until it calms down and then we go back upstairs to find our bedroom and bathroom completely flooded.  My bed soaked, the carpet soaked, the clothes in my closet soaked.  There is water running down the walls and out of the bathroom.  It is raining cats and dogs in my bedroom.  What do you do….you go sit in the living room and watch Seven Psychopaths because there is nothing we can do.  The landlord has been called and now we wait on him. I am guessing the next few weeks are gonna be shitty.  You know what though? My house is still standing, we are all safe, and I’m grateful it wasn’t any worse.  We might not have woken up and it might have torn right through our walls.  It could have injured us or taken a life but guess what?  It didn’t.  As bad as it was and as nerve wrecked as I am I am still thankful for being able to sit here amongst my flooded house writing you.  My road in life isn’t straight and it sure as hell isn’t flat.  It is a a curvy, bumpy, and sometimes old dirt road.  Along this road I have faced the ups and downs, I have hung with those curves, and I’ve kicked up a little dirt on that old road.  The journey may not always be a pleasant one but it is in those not so happy moments that you learn, that you build character, and you find an inner strength you didn’t know you had.  If it wasn’t for the rain you would never have a rainbow.  Think about that……

5 thoughts on “Nothing like a little twister to twist things up a bit.

  1. I was recommended this website by my cousin. I am not sure
    whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble.
    You are incredible! Thanks!

  2. Heya this is kinda of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding knowledge so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Leave a comment